Driving while intoxicated is a serious crime and every state has relatively harsh laws against drivers who commit DUI. Some states have even harsher laws than others, though.
It is important to understand the state-specific DUI penalties that you face if you end up charged with a DUI crime. In New York, the consequences can potentially have a harsh impact.
Penalties for first-time offenses
New York public law discusses the way the state handles DUI-related crimes, both in and out of New York. In this state, penalties will progress in severity depending on the number of previous offenses a driver has faced conviction for.
However, even for first-time offenders, the state has a reputation for doling out harsh penalties. First offenses will come with a mandatory suspension of a driver’s license for up to 6 months, for example. Drivers may also face vehicular confiscation, along with alcohol education with a mandatory attendance policy. On top of that, the driver will face hefty fines of up to hundreds or thousands of dollars.
Depending on court deliberation, drivers may also have an ignition interlock device installed on their cars. This prevents them from starting the vehicle without blowing into the device, proving that the driver does not have alcohol in their system in order to start the car.
Secondary offenses and higher
Secondary offenses can result in a license suspension for a year, with a third offense netting a suspension of up to 6 years. Out of state DUI convictions will also transfer to a driver’s New York record, resulting in a “first” DUI in New York counting as your second, third or so on.